top of page

Solidarity Through Service

Have you ever wanted to get involved in your area through service?

Have you thought about what kind of service you would like to do but don't know how to get involved?

Solidarity is a union or fellowship that results from common interests and responsibilities. This word, solidarity, is often used in the context of compassion. It is important to live in solidarity, fellowship, with those who are less fortunate than we are. Doing service is a great way to step back from our 21st Century distractions, help our community and remember all that we have to be thankful for.

Yes, it is true, service requires you to sacrifice one of life's most coveted amenities- time. However, the memories you'll make and the lessons you'll learn while doing service can last a lifetime.

The US Government has a great website that allows anyone to search for service opportunities throughout the United States. It is entitled, "Volunteer Match."

There are 28 different categories of service including animals, crisis support, disaster relief and homeless & housing. You can search by topic or select the option that says "Everything". The next step is to put in your zip code or state and you are on your way to finding current service opportunities in your area!

For all you skeptics out there who do not believe that service could ever be your "thing", think again. There are countless ways to serve others. This means that one of them is likely to interest you! What are your hobbies? Do you like to be active? Do you like children? Pets? There are endless opportunities to live in solidarity through service!

Personally, I like to get involved. However, there was a time when I did not know how to get involved or what I would enjoy. Honestly, the most rewarding service opportunities that I have ever been a part of were initially not my idea. For example, the first time I went to Nazareth Farm, a Catholic retreat/volunteer community, I had no choice in the matter.

My older sister had gone on the week-long mission trip to Nazareth Farm for two years in a row, prior to my attendance there. She told me how great of a time she had, paid all of my expenses and put me on the bus. At that time I had no idea what she was getting me into aside from building things, which I was not comfortable with.

Nazareth Farm's mission is home repair. The area where the farm is located is impoverished. The people inhabiting that area of the Appalachian Mountains in West Virginia do not have enough money for the upkeep of the houses or trailers that they call home. Nazareth Farm takes requests for home repair work, and, if it is work that the farm is capable of doing, the farm fronts all costs for the project. The homeowners can pay the farm back at a rate that is feasible for them.

This is a great mission! However, at that time, I did not believe that this could be my "thing". They taught me how to use all of the necessary tools and told me what to do. In the end, I loved it. I went back for 5 weeks the following summer and made some great memories as I helped those in the community.

Doing service can be extremely rewarding if you let it. If you have had a bad volunteer experience, do not let it hinder you from expanding your outreach to the community around you.

It is important to remember to be thankful for what we have and one of the best ways to do that is spend time with those who aren't so lucky-those who live more simply.

What is your favorite service opportunity? Do you have any tips on how to get involved? Check back in next week for another idea on how to live a simpler life in the 21st Century!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page