top of page

Make Simplifying a Passion

For my last blog, I would like to share my input on why living simply is something that I have chosen to write about.

When I began to live simply, it was not a choice. I was forced into it byNazareth Farm. I did not have the opportunity to cheat and use my cell phone whenever I wanted, or use more water than necessary. This made it easy for me to become more simple. However, it is not the reason why I have stayed that way. The reason why I have maintained this lifestyle is because of passion. Nazareth Farm not only presented the idea of simplicity to me but created an atmosphere where I could get excited about it- passionate even. Before I knew it, I was excited about everything in the world around me. I was disconnected from the fast pace of the 21st century and I was living in the present.

If you are not able to have an opportunity like visiting Nazareth Farm where you are forced into that environment, force yourself. Here are a few ideas for doing so:

1. Do not plug your phone in for the night and when it dies, let it remain dead for a few hours. Allow yourself to embrace the world around you.

2. When you jump into the shower, set a 5 minute alarm that is outside of the shower. When it goes off, you will be forced to hurry up and finish your shower before you can shut it off.

3. Take what you eat and eat what you take. Institute a "Clean Plate Policy". Before you can get up from the table, couch, desk, wherever you eat, your plate must be clean. This can go one of two ways. You will either begin taking less food or leave the table over-filled after each meal. Either way, the less waste the better.

4. When you wake up, before you start your day, look out a window for a few minutes and take in the world around you. Take a deep breath. Relax. Release life's distractions. It is a great way to use nature to your advantage.

These are just a few ideas that will offer you the opportunity to start simplifying. However, your attitude means more than the mere opportunity to simplify. It is important to make it not only a routine but a passion. Strive to become more simple every day. Stop and smell the roses. Take off your watch. Rid yourself of unnecessary possessions and negative influences. Keep your eye on the prize. Living simply can increase productivity and mental health as it decreases stress and anxiety.

As I mentioned earlier, I have made this a passion of mine. I currently have two goals that I strive to achieve every day that I continue living simply:

1. Keep my mind clear

2. Keep my arms open for anything or anyone that may come my way

I hope, with the help of my blog, you have been able to get at least a glimpse of what I like to call "the good life." You may find that simplifying your life is easier than you had originally thought!

Thank you for reading! - Alison


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page